Countries beginning with the letter A.

Countries beginning with the letter A.

Out of 194 countries on Earth. 12 countries start with A..

There is 12 countries, whose names start with the letter A.. A is the most common letter, which names of countries begin with. Interestingly, most country names starting with A also end with A, except Afghanistan and Azerbaijan.

Below are the countries starting with the letter A:

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Angola
  • Antigua i Barbuda
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan

Which countries start with A?


Afghanistan is a South Asian country inhabited by approx 34 656 032 people in 2016 r. It is 40 the largest country in the world with a total area 252 072 square miles. The capital of Afghanistan is Kabul. The word "Afghanistan" comes from the term "Afghan", which was established in the 3rd century. The prefix "-stan" is commonly used in countries, because Persian means "place". Afghanistan is sometimes called Afghanistan.


Albania is a country in Southeast Europe in the Balkans . The capital of the Republic of Albania is Tirana. The country covers the area 11 100 square miles. The name Albania comes from Latin and was used to describe the Albanian people. In Albanian Albania is called Shqipëria.


Algeria is the largest country in Africa with a total area 919 595 square miles. It is also the tenth largest country in the world . Its capital city is Algiers, and from 2016 year, the estimated population in the country was 40,4 million. In the Berber language, Algeria is called Dzayer . In French it is Algeria . The country name Algeria comes from the city of Algiers, which itself comes from an Arabic word meaning "islands".


The Principality of Andorra lies between France and Spain. The capital of the country is Andorra de la Vella. It has a surface 180,55 square miles, and from 2009 its population is estimated at 84 082. It is not known exactly, where does the name Andorra come from?.


The capital of the Republic of Angola is Luanda. The nation is located in South Africa. It has a surface 481400 square miles, what makes him 23. the largest country in the world. Angola is home to approx 18,498 million people. In the languages ​​of Umbund, Kimbundu and Kikongo Angola is called Ngola. the very name Angola comes from the Kimbund language, because it comes from the name Kimbundu for the king.

Antigua i Barbuda

The island state of Antigua and Barbuda lies in the eastern part of the Caribbean Sea, bordering the Atlantic Ocean. Its capital city, St. John, is the largest port and city on the island of Antigua. The country takes up in total 170 square miles of area and is estimated, that it is inhabited by around 81 799 people. Its official language is English. Antigua Island takes its name from a church found in Spain. The name Barbuda comes from a local word meaning "heron island".


The Argentine Republic is the second largest South American country by area 1 073 500 square miles. Its capital city is Buenos Aires. According to the census of 2014 r. Argentina has a population of approx 42 669 500 people. The name Argentina comes from the Latin word for silver.


The Republic of Armenia is located in the Armenian Highlands in the western part of Asia. The capital of Armenia is Yerevan. It is also the largest city in the country. Armenia covers an area 11 484 square miles and is approx 2 924 816 residents. In the Armenian language, it is called Armenia Hayastan . The origin of the name is unknown.


Australia is located in the southern hemisphere of the globe. Mainland Australia is a continent itself. Together with the islands that are part of it, the country covers the area 2969907 square miles. Canberra is the capital of the country, and Sydney is the largest city. Australia Population Estimated 2018 this year 24803900. The name Australia comes from the Latin word "southern".


The Republic of Austria is a Central European country, in which he lives approx 8 794 267 people. The country covers an area 32 386 square miles. The capital of Austria is Vienna, and the official language of the Austrians is German. In German, Austria is called Österreich, which means "eastern kingdom".


The Republic of Azerbaijan is a transcontinental country, both lying in Asia, and in Europe. The capital of Azerbaijan is Baku. The total area occupied by the nation is 33 400 square miles, and it is inhabited by around 9 165 000 people. The name Azerbaijan comes from the term "protected by holy fire".

Doesn't Aruba start with A?

Some sources also include Aruba , a tiny island state in the Caribbean Sea, just eighteen miles north of the Venezuelan coast . Although the island also starts with the letter "a", it is one of the four constituent countries of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, not a sovereign state, like the rest of the list.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *